“Unusual” songs

Using several music-technological tools I am creating a serie of so called unusual songs. Two of them are already audible on my Soundcloud page.

  • For “Beautiful Thief” I used Max to create a simple granular synthesizer, which I controlled using a light sensor with a lamp to scroll through a vocal sample and a single fader to set the length of the grains.
  • “Set Me Free” is a serial composition using phasing as a composition technique.
  • The harmony of “Lit” is solely dependent on a simple algorithm that was based on an analysis of the harmonic lines of a series of Bulgarian folk songs. Later I found out this was an existing technique called Markov Chaining. I made it in Max so that I could directly import the midi induced chords in my DAW.
Harmonic algorhythm

Markov Chaining Harmony

Leave a Reply

